h1

What’s wrong with *J*Groovy?

February 23, 2008

Patch

Every new year comes up with its JRuby vs (J)Groovy battle. Obviously (J)Groovy users/community are good at promotion, you’ll hardly ever see posts about JRuby without (J)Groovy marketing propaganda posted in comments.

I am definitely in favor of JRuby but I can understand some of the (J)Groovy arguments. I have nothing against JGroovy, it surely integrates pretty well with Java World and I think the mix of Java with Groovy will be easily adopted by the fearful Managers (fearing Ruby).

So what’s wrong with *J*Groovy ?…

Groovy!

JRuby and Jython were developped on top of 2 popular languages (Ruby and Python) which have been existing for more than 15 years, with their own community. Today Ruby and Python are heavily used running their own vms on nearly all os possible. Ruby has no less than 4 vm implementations. JGroovy is based on Groovy language which is 5 years old and only cloned what it found cool from its neighboors to patch Java dinosaur. Would you invest in such language? At least Sun, Microsoft, IBM, Thoughtworks, Oracle made their choice…

Fact is Groovy language has no mean of existence on its own without Java.

3 comments

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Allen Taylor


  2. I don’t think that the “Fact that Groovy language has no mean of existence on its own without Java.” is a downside. It’s probably its way to enterprise adoption, since it’s backed by a mature, widespread, though complex, tech such as Java. Therefore, for people appreciating java and JEE, and dreaming of a RAD framework, groovy&grails is a good solution.


  3. I get a “This town is not big enough for the two us vibe from you comments.” I must admit I am groovy fan, but I do have a fondness for both Python and Ruby. I think as developers we are victims of our circumstance when comes to our preferences to languages of choice. My work experiences have never lead me down a road to be able to use python and ruby in a significant way. From a learning curve and a work place acceptance perspective, groovy has been an easier sell to management. You do not have give up as much by using groovy, especially when dealing with legacy applications.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

