h1

How to run your windows firefox on kubuntu with wine ?

January 28, 2007

I needed to run my windows firefox to retrieve some login (not password!) for things like my bank account…
Here comes an easy one, you’ll just need wine :
sudo apt-get install wine
Then you can launch your windows firefox (my partition is mounted on /media/sda1) :
wine /media/<YOUR_WINDOWS_PARTITION>/\
Program\ Files/Mozilla\ Firefox/firefox.exe

The problem is that your profile won’t be loaded. At first I wanted to link (ln) the profile from windows partition but that wouldn’t work as I have the basic ntfs driver that mount the partition as read only, and firefox would complain (and anyway I wouldn’t want wine to put a mess in my windows firefox profile…). So you’ll just need to copy it :
cp -R /media/<YOUR_WINDOWS_PARTITION>\
/Documents\ and\ Settings/<YOUR_WINDOWS_USERNAME>\
/Application\ Data/Mozilla/Firefox/ ~/.wine\
/drive_c/windows/profiles/<YOUR_KUBUNTU_LOGIN>\
/Application\ Data/Mozilla/

chmod -R 700 ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/profiles\
/<YOUR_KUBUNTU_LOGIN>/Application\ Data/Mozilla/Firefox

And you’re done, you can relaunch and your profile will be loaded.

3 comments

  1. An alternative is to use the extension called FEBE to transfer the entire profile for you. Wine isn’t stable, so it’s not something I’d want to do very often, but I’ll *always* want a backup of my firefox profile.


  2. just to let you know, kubuntu does not accept sudo apt-get wine; it uses the KDE-guidance package.


  3. why FEBE …check my blog…i have a simple procedure to export your firefox profile and install it into any OS(including Linux)
    http://varunthacker.wordpress.com



Leave a Reply

