h1

Installing Eclipse with Ruby / Rails support

February 28, 2007

eclipse_logo.gifAs stated in my blog, I am having a look at the most well-known Ruby / Rails IDE competitors.
Thus I had a try on Eclipse platform as I couldn’t get RadRails 0.7.2 Standalone version to work with latest RDT plugins that come with refactoring notably.
Version we will install :
Eclipse 3.2.1 with RDT Stable Release (to have a stable environment) or Nightly Build Plugin (in my case 0.8.0.702111959NGT) to test latest RDT features, and RadRails Plugin 0.7.2
Once you installed Eclipse, you need to install those 2 plugins.
– Help Software Update / Find And Install / Search for new features to Install /
Then Add the new Remote sites :

Eclispe Install RadRails PluginEclispe Install RDT Plugin

Once you parametrized the Ruby SDK in the options, you are ready!

2 comments

  1. One important thing which was not mentioned and caused me headache for 2 days is to verify which Java VM eclipse is using. On my ubuntu system, it was using gcj Java vm. This was causing problems when I tried to install Radrails and RDT plugins. I had to uninstall eclipse-gcj and then everything installed properly.


  2. RadRails is currently broken (still not released) for Eclipse 3.4 and up.



Leave a Reply

